Автор: Online Games VIP Editorial
·
Pearl Abyss says Crimson Desert players must finish the main story to access new character epilogues, while open-world content unlocks earlier.
Players will need to finish Crimson Desert’s main storyline before they can begin the new character-focused stories in the Charting the Unknown DLC. IGN reports that Pearl Abyss confirmed the requirement through Will Powers, who discussed the expansion on Dropped Frames.
IGN reports that Charting the Unknown launches on October 29 and separates its additions into two progression paths. The first contains epilogue stories for Kliff, Oongka, and Damiane, and requires completion of the main campaign. The second leads to new open-world content and becomes available after players establish the Greymane camp during Chapter 3.
That distinction means players who have not reached the end of Crimson Desert’s campaign can still access at least some of the expansion’s broader activities. However, the new stories focused on the three main characters are being kept behind the main-story conclusion, according to IGN’s account of Pearl Abyss’ confirmation.
Two entry points for Charting the Unknown
IGN reports that the DLC’s first entry point is tied directly to the end of the main story. Completing the campaign unlocks epilogue content for Kliff, Oongka, and Damiane. These stories are intended to explore what the three characters do after the events of the main game and to expand on motivations and personal histories that received less attention during the campaign.
According to IGN’s report, the characters’ post-campaign paths are not simply another continuation of the same group journey. The DLC follows what each character does in the world afterward, giving the expansion a separate story focus for each of them. The source does not provide the length, quest count, or structure of those episodes.
The second entry point concerns a new area of the map and the open-world systems attached to it. IGN reports that players must establish the Greymane camp during Chapter 3 before they can access this part of Charting the Unknown. The open-world content includes exploration, naval gameplay, and activities outside the character-specific story material.
IGN also reports that this broader route can be accessed relatively early in the game compared with the epilogues. In practical terms, the expansion is not presented as a single block that only becomes available after the credits. Players who want new exploration or open-world activities should have an earlier route into the DLC, while players seeking the narrative follow-ups must first complete the campaign.
Why the story requirement matters
The main-story requirement is significant because the first part of Charting the Unknown is explicitly positioned as epilogue material. IGN reports that Pearl Abyss considers early access to those stories a potential spoiler risk. Keeping them after the campaign allows the expansion to address the characters’ futures without exposing players to developments they have not yet reached in the main narrative.
Analysis: This structure also gives players more control over how they approach the expansion. Someone still working through Crimson Desert can continue the main campaign and use the Greymane camp requirement as a nearer-term objective for new open-world content. Someone who has finished the story can move directly into the character epilogues, assuming the relevant save meets the stated requirement.
The split may also reduce the pressure to treat every DLC feature as endgame content. IGN’s report identifies ocean exploration and naval gameplay among the activities connected to the new area, while the source also lists romance, business management, and expanded housing as additions in Charting the Unknown. Those systems are separate from the confirmed character-story requirement, although the report does not give a complete breakdown of how each feature unlocks.
That matters for players who enjoy Crimson Desert primarily as an open-world game rather than as a linear story campaign. The reported Chapter 3 condition suggests that the expansion’s wider sandbox content is designed to fit into an ongoing playthrough. By contrast, the epilogue stories are deliberately positioned as continuation content for players who have already seen the main narrative through to its conclusion.
IGN reports that only 10.8% of players have unlocked the Expert Storyteller achievement on Steam. The achievement is awarded for completing all main quests, according to the report. That figure provides context for the DLC requirement, because most players represented by that achievement data have not yet reached the point needed to begin the three character epilogues.
The achievement percentage should not be treated as a complete measure of every Crimson Desert player on every platform. It is official Steam achievement data, as described by IGN, and does not establish how many players on other platforms have completed the campaign. It does show that, among the Steam population covered by the achievement, finishing the full main questline is currently uncommon.
IGN links that result to the scale of Crimson Desert and the amount of content available outside the main campaign. The source describes the game as offering hundreds, if not thousands, of hours of content and notes that players can be diverted by other activities. That helps explain why a player can spend substantial time in the game without reaching the final main quests, though the source does not provide a universal average completion time.
Analysis: For players deciding whether to rush toward the expansion’s character stories, the achievement data is a useful warning against assuming that the DLC will be immediately available. Reaching the epilogues may require abandoning side activities for a while, depending on an individual save. The earlier open-world route offers a different option, but players should not assume it includes the same narrative content as the post-campaign episodes.
What remains unconfirmed
The confirmed requirements do not answer every practical question about Charting the Unknown. IGN’s report does not specify whether all three character epilogues unlock at once after the main story is completed, or whether each has an additional quest, location, or progression condition. It also does not explain whether players can tackle the stories in any order.
The report does not state how the DLC handles an existing save that has already passed Chapter 3 but has not completed the main campaign. The Greymane camp is identified as the requirement for the open-world route, but no further details are given about how that state is checked or how the first quest is presented.
Players also do not yet have a confirmed breakdown of the new map area’s size, the scope of its naval gameplay, or the relationship between exploration and the listed systems such as romance, business management, and expanded housing. The source confirms that these features are part of the expansion’s additions, but it does not provide detailed implementation information.
Pricing, edition availability, platform specifics, and any launch-day technical details are not established by the supplied report. Those points should be treated as unknown until Pearl Abyss or another reliable source provides them. The same applies to whether Charting the Unknown introduces new equipment, enemies, progression rewards, or other systems not described in the report.
The next useful evidence will be a detailed explanation of the two progression routes. Players need to know exactly where the epilogue quests begin after the campaign, how the Greymane camp requirement is tracked, and whether the open-world activities can be started without touching the character stories. A launch guide or official support information could clarify those points.
More information about save compatibility will also matter. Players with a completed campaign save will want to know whether the DLC appears automatically, while those in an active playthrough will need a clear indication of when the new open-world area becomes available. The supplied report confirms the broad conditions, but not the in-game steps between meeting those conditions and starting the content.
For now, the central message is clear. IGN reports that Pearl Abyss is treating the Kliff, Oongka, and Damiane stories as post-campaign epilogues, so players must complete Crimson Desert’s main storyline before entering them. The expansion’s wider open-world content follows a separate Chapter 3 requirement tied to the Greymane camp, giving players who are still progressing through the campaign an earlier way to access some of what Charting the Unknown adds.