Von Online Games VIP Editorial
·
IGN is offering unlimited checklist tracking in its Ocarina of Time guides from October 8 to November 5, 2026, ahead of the reported remake.
IGN has made unlimited checklist tracking available in its The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time guides for a limited period. According to IGN, players can use the checklists without charge from October 8 through November 5, 2026.
IGN is positioning the offer ahead of the November 5 release date it gives for the Zelda: Ocarina of Time Remake on Nintendo Switch 2. The publisher says its walkthrough and collectible guides are intended to help players follow the original game, track completed objectives, and reduce the need to revisit areas while working toward a complete run.
IGN describes its main Ocarina of Time walkthrough as a guide covering the story from Kokiri Forest through Ganon’s Castle. The publisher says the walkthrough highlights key objectives and pickups, with guidance for puzzles and dungeon bosses across Link’s journey.
The central feature in this promotion is the checklist system. IGN says players can use unlimited checkmarks until November 5, 2026, allowing them to mark objectives as completed while progressing through the game. That can be useful for a replay, but it also targets players who are starting the classic for the first time and want a structured route through its larger sequence of locations and dungeons.
IGN also points to separate collectible guides. The publisher specifically identifies Golden Skulltulas as an example, saying players who are already partway through a playthrough can mark the collectibles they have found and use the guide to locate the remaining ones. The source does not provide a complete list of the individual guides included in the promotion, so the exact scope of every checklist remains unspecified.
The access window is important. IGN says the checklists are free only from October 8 to November 5, 2026. It does not explain in the supplied article what happens to saved checklist progress after that date, or whether the checklists will remain available under another access arrangement.
IGN’s offer arrives as attention turns toward the remake identified in its article. The publisher says the remake is scheduled for November 5, 2026, leaving a short period for players who want to revisit the original before that release date. IGN frames the checklist promotion as a reason to replay the classic now rather than waiting.
For returning players, a checklist can serve a different purpose from a traditional walkthrough. Someone who remembers the main story but not every optional item may only need a way to record completed objectives. A player who stopped midway through the game can use the same system to identify unfinished sections without restarting from the beginning. These are practical uses of the feature, rather than claims about how much time it will save in every playthrough.
For new players, the value is more dependent on how much guidance they want. IGN says its walkthrough covers the game’s puzzles, dungeons, bosses, objectives, and pickups. That makes the guides a potential route through the original game, but following them closely could also reduce the amount of discovery some players prefer in a first playthrough. The checklist is optional, so players can decide whether to use it as a progress log or as a detailed completion tool.
The timing also creates a clear deadline for completion-focused players. A person attempting to collect every Golden Skulltula or verify every listed objective has access to the unlimited-checkmark feature only through the date supplied by IGN. The publisher does not state how many objectives or collectibles its database contains, so the article supports the availability window but not a specific estimate for the scale of a 100 percent run.
IGN says the original Nintendo 64 version of The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is available through the Nintendo Classics collection. According to the publisher, access to Nintendo 64 collection games requires the Nintendo Switch Online + Expansion Pack subscription tier.
IGN lists an individual membership at $49.99 and says that tier includes access to the Nintendo 64 collection games, including Ocarina of Time. The source does not identify whether that price is a monthly, annual, or otherwise recurring rate, so the article should not be read as a full breakdown of Nintendo’s current subscription terms.
The publisher also mentions second-hand copies and hardware versions for players seeking an older format. IGN names the Nintendo 64, GameCube, and Nintendo 3DS versions as alternatives, while recommending the Nintendo Switch Online route for people who do not already own one of those systems. IGN says the original can be played through that route on either Nintendo Switch or Nintendo Switch 2.
None of those options changes the temporary nature of the checklist promotion. The game and the guide service are separate parts of the experience: the former provides the software, while IGN’s checklists provide a way to record progress through it. Players should confirm their own hardware and subscription access before relying on the Nintendo Classics option.
Analysis: The strongest use case is a player who wants a completion-oriented replay but does not maintain notes outside the game. Unlimited checkmarks can turn a long guide into a practical checklist, particularly for collectibles that are easy to overlook. That is especially relevant to someone returning after a long gap, when remembering which optional items have already been collected may be harder than remembering the main story.
The offer may also suit players preparing for the reported remake. Replaying the original can provide context for its characters, locations, puzzles, and progression, but the supplied source does not describe what the remake changes or preserves. A checklist can help a player organize that revisit, yet it cannot establish how closely the upcoming release will follow the original.
New players should treat the guides as an adjustable aid rather than a required route. Reading only the relevant checklist entry after getting stuck can preserve more of the game’s exploration, while using the full walkthrough may be preferable for a deadline-driven completion attempt. IGN’s article supports the availability of both the walkthrough and collectible tracking, but it does not report how the checklists behave on mobile, desktop, or any particular browser.
There is also a practical distinction between finishing the story and completing everything listed in a guide. IGN references key objectives, pickups, puzzles, bosses, and Golden Skulltulas, which indicates that its coverage extends beyond the critical path. The publisher does not define its own standard for 100 percent completion in the supplied text, so players should decide what “complete” means for their run before beginning.
The supplied catalog includes Legend Of Zelda, The - Ocarina Of Time (V1.2), which is directly relevant to this checklist promotion. The catalog entry identifies the game, but it does not provide additional platform, ownership, or availability details. Use IGN’s Nintendo Classics information, rather than the catalog entry alone, when deciding how to access the original game.
What remains unconfirmed
IGN’s article gives the checklist dates and describes the broad guide coverage, but several details are not established in the supplied source. It does not name the remake’s developer, provide a feature list, explain whether the November 5 date applies in every region, or describe any differences between the remake and the Nintendo 64 original.
The article also does not specify whether every IGN Ocarina of Time guide receives unlimited checklist tracking, beyond its references to the main walkthrough and collectible guides. It does not say whether progress saved during the free period remains accessible after November 5, whether the feature requires an account, or whether any parts of the guides are excluded.
Those are the next points worth watching as the deadline approaches. Players should look for further information from IGN about post-promotion checklist access and for official details about the remake’s release, platforms, and features. Until then, the confirmed takeaway is narrower: IGN says its Ocarina of Time checklists can be used with unlimited checkmarks at no cost from October 8 through November 5, 2026.