作者:Online Games VIP Editorial
·
IGN outlines the Switch 2 editions of Metroid Ravenous, its cartridge release, and three amiibo plans, while key bundle details remain unconfirmed.
IGN reports that Metroid Ravenous is scheduled to launch exclusively on Nintendo Switch 2 on January 28, 2027. The game is described as a new 2D side-scrolling adventure starring Samus, and as a follow-up to Metroid Dread.
IGN says players will have two editions to consider, with the standard version arriving on a physical cartridge and a special edition adding extra contents. The game is also expected to launch alongside new amiibo releases. However, the supplied IGN article text does not identify the special edition's price, list the items in its package, or provide prices for the separate figures.
According to IGN, Metroid Ravenous is exclusive to Nintendo Switch 2. That establishes the platform named in the report, but the source does not provide further technical information about the Switch 2 version. It does not describe resolution, frame rate, save-data features, storage requirements, online functions, or any other hardware-specific feature.
IGN characterizes the project as a 2D side-scrolling adventure and identifies it as a follow-up to Metroid Dread. That gives players a clear genre and series context without confirming how the new game will change its exploration, combat, progression, or map design. The source also does not state whether any characters besides Samus will appear, or explain how the story connects to the previous game.
The reported launch date is January 28, 2027. IGN presents that date as the planned release timing, but the supplied source does not include a launch-day schedule, regional availability information, or a statement about whether the date applies worldwide. Those details should therefore be checked before placing a preorder based on a specific territory.
IGN reports that the standard edition includes the game on a cartridge. That is a useful distinction for Switch 2 shoppers because the source notes that some Switch 2 releases, including first-party titles, may not always include a full game cartridge. The article contrasts this release with that broader packaging issue, but it does not explain why Metroid Ravenous is receiving a cartridge or whether the cartridge contains the complete game.
IGN also says physical copies normally cost $10 more than digital copies for recent Nintendo releases. This is presented as general pricing context rather than a confirmed Metroid Ravenous price. The source does not provide the standard edition's digital price, physical price, currency, or regional MSRP, so shoppers should not treat the $10 difference as the final cost of this particular game.
The special edition includes the game and additional items, according to IGN. The article text supplied for this report does not show the names of those items, their quantities, or the special edition's price. That missing list is significant for anyone comparing the two editions, because the source confirms that the bundle contains more than the game but does not establish what every buyer will receive.
IGN specifically confirms that one amiibo is exclusive to the special edition and is not sold separately. The supplied text does not identify that figure by name. It also does not say whether the exclusive amiibo is the only physical extra in the bundle. Until the complete contents are published, the special edition cannot be evaluated accurately on value alone.
IGN reports that two additional amiibo will release alongside the game: Samus and Chozo Statue. These are separate from the amiibo described as exclusive to the special edition. Based on the source, players should distinguish between the special-edition-exclusive figure and the two additional figures planned for separate release.
The source does not provide the release price, packaging, retailer availability, preorder timing, or exact product names for the Samus and Chozo Statue amiibo. It also does not explain what functionality any of the figures will have in Metroid Ravenous. IGN's report confirms the planned figures, but it does not confirm unlockable content, in-game bonuses, compatibility with other titles, or whether the figures will be sold individually in every market.
That makes the special edition's unidentified amiibo an important point to watch. A player who wants a complete set may need to compare the bundle with the two additional figures, but the available information does not yet establish whether the special-edition figure has a distinct design, pose, or name. Those are practical buying details, not minor packaging notes, because they determine whether a separate purchase could reproduce the bundle's contents.
Analysis: The confirmed cartridge inclusion gives physical buyers one clear reason to pay attention to this release. The decision is not simply between a digital copy and a box containing a download code, at least according to IGN's report. A cartridge may matter to players who prefer collecting physical releases or who want the game media included with the package. The source does not confirm every technical property of that cartridge, so buyers should still look for final packaging information.
The physical-versus-digital choice also depends on a price that has not been supplied. IGN's general note about a possible $10 premium establishes a comparison point, not a final amount. Players should wait for an official regional price before deciding whether the cartridge, the special-edition extras, or a digital purchase best fits their budget.
The two-edition structure creates a second decision. Players primarily interested in the game will need to compare the standard version with the special edition once the latter's full item list and price are available. Collectors, meanwhile, will need to determine whether the exclusive amiibo is worth buying the larger bundle, since IGN says that figure cannot be obtained separately.
For amiibo buyers, the sensible approach is to treat the three reported figures as different purchasing questions. The special-edition figure is tied to the bundle, while Samus and Chozo Statue are described as additional releases. IGN does not confirm their prices or availability, so there is not enough evidence to calculate the cost of collecting all three or to know whether buying the special edition is the only route to the exclusive figure.
Story context is limited, but the premise points to survival
IGN includes trailer material describing Samus as injured, stranded on an unknown moon, and facing a difficult return to the surface. The report also presents survival against hostile creatures as part of the premise. These details establish the setup conveyed in the trailer, but they do not confirm the moon's identity, the attackers' identities, the full plot, or the gameplay systems tied to Samus's condition.
The survival framing fits the series' established science-fiction adventure context, but that is analysis rather than a confirmed description of the game's mechanics. The source does not say whether Samus's injuries change her abilities, create a health system, alter exploration, or affect the game's difficulty. It also does not confirm whether feeding on enemies is a playable mechanic or simply part of the trailer's dramatic premise.
IGN notes that Metroid Dread received a 9/10 in its own review and describes that game as challenging but fair. That is IGN's earlier review context, not an OnlineGamesVIP verdict on Metroid Ravenous. There is no review, hands-on report, performance test, or critical assessment of the new game in the supplied material.
Players looking for an existing entry point into the series can explore Metroid in the catalog. It is relevant as a way to revisit the franchise while waiting for more confirmed information about Metroid Ravenous. This is a catalog recommendation, not a claim that the older game shares specific mechanics or story details with the upcoming release.
What remains unknown before preorders
Several practical details still need confirmation. The supplied IGN text does not give prices for either edition, identify the full special-edition contents, name the exclusive amiibo, or state the prices and release arrangements for the Samus and Chozo Statue figures. It also does not provide retailer-specific preorder links or explain whether any retailer bonuses are planned.
The report does not confirm the exact digital-versus-physical pricing in any region, whether the standard cartridge requires a download, or whether the special edition uses the same cartridge as the standard release. It also leaves the game's file size, language support, accessibility options, online features, and Switch 2 system requirements unconfirmed.
Players should also wait for clearer information about amiibo functionality. The source confirms the three planned figures, but it does not state what they do in the game. No gameplay benefit, cosmetic unlock, bonus mode, or cross-game feature should be assumed from the amiibo announcements alone.
For now, the firm buying information is limited but useful: IGN reports a Switch 2-exclusive 2D Metroid follow-up dated for January 28, 2027, a standard physical cartridge edition, a special edition with an unidentified exclusive amiibo, and two additional amiibo releases featuring Samus and a Chozo Statue. The missing package contents, prices, regional details, and amiibo functions are the key points to watch before making a preorder decision.